Sunday, April 30, 2006

2:00 Eastern/1:00 Central/11:00 Pacific: I'm following a bunch of game-trackers today, which you can access via the links on the right-hand side of this page (either through the CSTV page or particular teams' pages). I can report the following, for now...

Northwestern has taken the first game from Michigan, 2-1, in Ann Arbor.

Bottom of the 4th, Georgia leads Tennessee 2-0.

I will add in links to game articles as they become available.

6:00 Eastern/5:00 Central/3:00 Pacific: Some updates...

Michigan shut out Northwestern in the second game of their double-header, 2-0, thus producing a split. The Wolverines' Jennie Ritter pitched complete games in both ends of the twin-bill, giving her 28 innings pitched for the weekend. As this Northwestern article points out, the Wildcats still have the upper hand in the Big 10 race, with a pair of games remaining for each team next weekend.

Georgia defeated Tennessee 7-6, thus giving the Bulldogs two out of three in the series against the Lady Volunteers. UGA also clinched the SEC Eastern Division. As I discussed a couple of postings ago (see below), Tennessee has had trouble closing out tight games, which happened again today.

UCLA captured a 3-1 home victory over Arizona State.